2019 Annual Session Award Recipients

On Saturday, August 24, 2019 AAOMR presented the following awards during its 70th Annual Sessions in conjunction with the IADMFR Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

President-Elect Dr. Dan Colosi presented all of the awards.


Top Reviewer Award

Lincoln Manson-Hing Award
Dr. Freny Karjodkar
Dr. Karjodkar was unable to attend.



Top Reviewer Recognition

Dr. Kaan Orhan, Ankara University, Faculty of Dentistry, Ankara, Turkey (pictured)
Dr. Akitoshi Katsumata, Asahi University School of Dentistry, Mizuho-shi, Japan
Dr. Katsumata was unable to attend


 Arthur H. Wuerhman Prize for Best Radiology Paper in OOOO

Drs. Akrivoula Soundia, Danny Hadaya, Sanjay M. Mallya, Tara L. Aghaloo, Sotirios Tetradis, UCLA School of Dentistry

Radiographic predictors of bone exposure in patients with stage 0 medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaws. Oral Surg Oral Med Oral Pathol Oral Radiol 2018 December, 126(6): 537-544.
Pictured, left to right, Dr. Dan Colosi, Dr. Sotirios Tetradis, Dr. Akrivoula Soundia, and Dr. Sanjay Mallya



 Albert G. Richards Research Grant Award

Dr. Maryam Ajami, Stony Brook University, School of Dental Medicine




 Charles R. Morris Student Research Award

Dr. Katherine Shi, University of Pennsylvania, School of Dental Medicine
Accepted on her behalf is her mentor Dr. Mel Mupparapu


 Williams H. Rollins Research Award 

Dr. Nisha Manila, Texas A&M University, College of Dentistry


Radiology Centennial Scholarship

Dr. Robert Hilton, University of North Carolina, Adams School of Dentistry


 Dentsply Sirona Research Award

Dr. Avni Bhula, The Role of Imaging in ONJ: An Evidence Based Institutional Experience



Dentsply Sirona Clinical Award

Dr. Stacey Leah Lamarche

Journey of the Notochord – Linking Embryology to Radiologic Interpretation of the Craniocervical Junction


H. Cline Fixott Sr. Oration 2019

Reinhilde Jacobs, PhD

Professor, University of Leuven and Secretary General IADMFR



S. Julian Gibbs Oration 2019

Edward J. Calabrese, PhD

Professor of Toxicology at the University of Massachusetts







AAOMR would like to acknowledge the following IADMFR/AAOMR Sponsors and Exhibitors at the meeting:


Platinum Sponsors:

Silver Sponsors:



Apply for an Award


Past Recipients